Judges are all non-partisan elected officials. They are therefore elected in the April non-partisan elections on various years.

Circuit Court Judge

The Wisconsin circuit courts are the state’s trial courts. Circuit courts have original jurisdiction in all civil and criminal matters within the state, including probate, juvenile, and traffic matters, as well as civil and criminal jury trials.

Currently, there are 249 circuit court judges in Wisconsin. The circuit courts are divided into branches with at least one branch in every county, with the exception of six counties that are paired off and share judges. Judges are elected by voters in their “circuit” (district) to serve 6 year terms.

Kewaunee County has one Circuit Court Judge: Hon. Jeffrey Wisnicky

The court is located at 613 Dodge Street in Kewaunee.

Court of Appeals – District 3

Court of Appeals District Map

Court of Appeals Districts

The Court of Appeals is the state’s intermediate appellate court. The primary function of the court is to correct errors that occurred at the circuit court level.

The court is composed of 16 judges from four districts. Judges in the Court of Appeals are elected by voters in their district to serve 6 year terms.

District 3 Judges:

  • Michael W. Hoover, 2009-2015
  • Gregory A. Peterson, 2011-2017
  • Mark A. Mangerson, 2012-2018

District 3 is headquartered at:

2100 Stewart Avenue, Suite 310
Wausau, WI 54401
Phone: (715) 848-1421
Fax: (715) 845-4523

Supreme Court of Wisconsin

The state’s highest court is composed of seven justices, who are elected to 10-year terms in state-wide elections.

The current justices are:

  • Jill J. Karofsky, 2020 – 2030
  • Ann Walsh Bradley, 2015-2025
  • Rebecca Frank Dallet, 2018-2028
  • Brian Hagedorn, 2017-2027
  • Patience D. Roggensack, 203-2023
  • Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler, 2017-2027
  • Rebecca Grassl Bradley, 2016-2026

The Supreme Court is located in the State Capitol building